Preparing nodes for GPU virtualization

For vGPU to work, enable it on the node by installing the NVIDIA kernel module, and then enable IOMMU. However, if you want to virtualize a GPU that was previously detached from the node for GPU passthrough, you need to additionally modify the GRUB configuration file.

To enable vGPU on a node

  1. On the node with the physical GPU, do one of the following:

  2. Install the vGPU KVM kernel module from the NVIDIA GRID package:

    # bash
  3. Recreate the Linux boot image by running:

    # dracut -f
  4. Run the enable-iommu script to enable IOMMU on the node:

    # /usr/libexec/vstorage-ui-agent/bin/ enable-iommu

    The script works for both Intel and AMD processors.

  5. Reboot the node to apply the changes:

    # reboot

You can check that IOMMU is successfully enabled in the dmesg output:

# dmesg | grep -e DMAR -e IOMMU
[    0.000000] DMAR: IOMMU enabled

To check that a GPU card is vGPU enabled

List all graphics cards on the node and obtain their PCI addresses:

# lspci -D | grep NVIDIA
0000:01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation TU104GL [Tesla T4] (rev a1)
0000:81:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation TU104GL [Tesla T4] (rev a1)

0000:01:00.0 and 0000:81:00.0 are the PCI addresses of the graphics cards.

Check that the graphics card is vGPU enabled:

ls /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000\:01:00.0/mdev_supported_types
nvidia-222  nvidia-223  nvidia-224  nvidia-225  nvidia-226  nvidia-227  nvidia-228  nvidia-229  nvidia-230  nvidia-231
nvidia-232  nvidia-233  nvidia-234  nvidia-252  nvidia-319  nvidia-320  nvidia-321

For a vGPU-enabled card, the directory contains a list of supported vGPU types. A vGPU type is a vGPU configuration that defines the vRAM size, maximum resolution, maximum number of supported vGPUs, and other parameters.