7.6. Deleting volumes¶
Delete a volume with the specified ID.
- Volume status must be
error_managing, and must not be migrating, attached, belong to a group or have snapshots.
- You cannot already have a snapshot of the volume.
- You cannot delete a volume that is in a migration.
- The volume is deleted in volume index.
- The volume managed by OpenStack Block Storage is deleted in storage node.
- If volume status remains in
error_deletingthe request failed. Ensure you meet the preconditions then investigate the storage back end.
- The volume managed by OpenStack Block Storage is not deleted from the storage system.
||path||string||The UUID of the project in a multi-tenancy cloud.|
||path||string||The UUID of the volume.|
||query||boolean||Remove any snapshots along with the volume. Default=False.|
Indicates whether to force delete a volume even if
the volume is in deleting or error_deleting. Default is
New in version 3.23
# curl -ks -X DELETE -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -H 'X-Auth-Token: gAAAAA<...>' \ https://<node_IP_addr>:8776/v3/f5d834d636c642c7bfe8af86139c6f26/volumes/de5b7dfc-e3e8-4f14-9969-98d61af40329
Version 5.0.0 — Feb 01, 2022