3.3. Configuring Clients

This section explains how to complete the following tasks:

  • Add new clients to clusters
  • Update clients
  • Remove clients from clusters

3.3.1. Adding Clients

The process of including additional clients in a Virtuozzo Storage cluster does not differ from that of setting up the first client and is described in Setting Up Clients in detail.

Once you configure the client, you can run different commands on it to administer the cluster. For example, you can monitor the cluster health and status using the vstorage top command. For more details on monitoring Virtuozzo Storage clusters, see Monitoring Virtuozzo Storage Clusters.

3.3.2. Updating Clients

The process of updating software on clients that participate in clusters does not differ from that of updating software on standalone servers, except for updating the vstorage-client package. When updating this package, pay attention to the following:

  • If no cluster is mounted to the client, the client starts using the updated package right away.
  • If at least one cluster is mounted to the client, the updated package is installed, but the client starts using it only after you remount the cluster or reboot the client.

3.3.3. Removing Clients

Removing a client from a Virtuozzo Storage cluster simply means unmounting the directory under which the cluster is mounted on the client. Assuming that the cluster is mounted under /vstorage/stor1, you can unmount it as follows:

  1. Make sure that all virtual machines and Containers in the cluster are stopped.

  2. Unmount the cluster:

    # umount /vstorage/stor1
    
  3. If your cluster is configured to be automatically mounted when the client boots, comment out the cluster entry in the /etc/fstab file on the client:

    # vstorage://stor1 /vstorage/stor1 fuse.vstorage rw,nosuid,nodev 0 0